LAUGH WITH LILY

Lily became a sort of local celebrity when she revealed during a local news station interview about her latest novel that she had recently married for the fourth time. The interviewer couldn’t resist quizzing her on her earlier marriages.

“So tell us a but about your first husband, Lily.”

“Hmm, let’s see… When I was in my early 20s I fell in love with and married a banker. He looked a lot like a young George Clooney. Unfortunately he also had a wandering eye.”

“Sorry to hear that. So what about Husband # 2?”

“Oh he was a circus performer. I married him when I was 30. He was lovely and ever so fit. Sadly, he couldn’t settle in the one place.”

“That is sad. Um. Okay. And Husband # 3?”

Lily laughed a little awkwardly. “Well, believe it or not, he was a preacher.”

“Wow. That is unusual considering the, aah, subject matter of your novels!”

Lily chuckled. “Hmm, yes.”

“So that leads us to Husband #4. What does he do for a living?”

“Oh, he’s a funeral director.”

The interviewer burst out laughing. “Oh my God, Lily. I have to say I’m absolutely floored at the, aah, variety in your spouses backgrounds and careers. How on earth did you meet, let alone marry, men from such different walks of life?”

“It always made sense to me,” she replied, smiling. Before the interviewer could reply Lily burst into song, ad-libbing a famous tune, “I married one for the money, two for the show, three to get ready, and four to go cat go.”

###

DISCLAIMER

LOL, as of today I’m still single!

Leave a Reply

