FREE FICTION FRIDAY: IF YOU LOVE SOMETHING CH 19: SO WILL YOU COME CAMPING WITH ME?

freefictionfridayavatar

Hi Everyone,

Here’s my flash with the Free Fiction Friday Group!

#

IF YOU LOVE SOMETHING

( IYLS )

#

SUMMARY

David and Jesse are childhood friends who get separated in their teens but meet up again at university in Newcastle, Australia.

They soon find out that though some things remain the same, other change… oh boy, do they change.

#

 Previously

“Good,” was all he said, his voice sounding happy.

The pleased tone to his words gave me confidence and I turned to look at him—really look at him. He stood a couple of inches shorter than my six foot two, with mid-brown hair that he wore short. His physique looked slim and compact beneath the loose-fitting white shirt he wore over his blue jeans, and he had, I decided, what I would call, a nice face. It wasn’t the type of face that would stop you in your tracks the way Jeremy’s or Erik’s would, but he was good looking in a quiet, pleasant, regular kind of way.

As my gaze returned to his, I smiled and took another swallow of my beer.

“I like what I see too,” he said quietly so only I could hear, his gaze travelling down to my mouth.

Nervously, I gulped down some more of my drink, and as I lowered my glass he leaned forward, whispering, “Here, let me take care of that for you.”

And then his tongue was ghosting over my top lip, lapping at the traces of foam left from my beer.

That was all it took.

Sixteen months of abstinence had left me feeling like dry kindling. One kiss was the only spark I needed to burst into flames.

My need overrode my reticence and I took control of the situation, wrapping my free hand around the nape of his neck, anchoring him to me as I thrust my tongue into his only too receptive mouth.

“Let’s get out of here,” I almost growled.

“Thought you’d never ask,” he panted, pressing himself against me, his hard-on pushing against my thigh.

We both downed the remainder of our drinks, our stare on each other, mentally undressing each other.

My dick almost sang with relief when we stumbled out onto the pavement and I learned he practically lived around the corner.

In a matter of minutes we were in his house grappling at each other’s clothing; lips, tongues, and hands, all busy. He tossed me a condom and a small bottle of lube while flicking the lid of a second bottle open himself, throwing himself on his back on the bed, his hungry gaze on my cock as he prepared himself. Rolling onto his stomach, he drew himself up on all fours, his ass high and waiting for me.

I stepped toward him, and then it was just two young, hot, hungry bodies taking from each other what they needed.

 #

CHAPTER 19: SO WILL YOU COME CAMPING WITH ME?

It was going to be a beautiful autumn day. The sun was out, the sky a clear blue with only the odd white cloud floating across its surface. The light breeze felt cool and pleasant on my flushed cheeks as I walked, weary but sated, through the park on my way home.

I smiled, feeling the fabric of my underwear rub against the sensitive head of my cock as I took my time ambling home, the sensation bringing with it memories of the previous night. The poor bastard probably hadn’t known what hit him. Months of barely satisfying self-loving had left me horny. Very fucking horny. I’d shot my load four times; twice in his arse, and twice in his capable mouth while we’d 69’d; the last time not half an hour earlier.

My fingers curled about the slip of paper he’d given me with his name and number on it, its words bringing a smile to my lips. Phillip – 4949 4321 – Call me, gorgeous. Looking forward to a repeat… several, in fact!

Phillip. Would I call him? Maybe? Probably. For a few short hours he’d made me forget a certain set of gray eyes. He might not Mr. Right—but he could certainly be Mr. Here and Now, and who knew where things would go once I got to know him better. Sexually, we’d already proven ourselves compatible.

Letting myself into my flat, I headed straight for the shower, enjoying its warm spray on my tired muscles. I made quick work of washing myself and my hair, wanting nothing more than to climb into my bed and catch a few more hours sleep. No sooner had I stepped, naked, from my bathroom than there was a knock at my door. Shaking my head, I decided it was probably Mrs. Gilmore, checking to make sure I was okay, seeing as I hadn’t come home the previous night—honestly, she was as bad as my mother.

“Hang on, Mrs. G. Just let me put something on.”

I grabbed a pair of board shorts, clumsily yanking them up my thighs as I walked to my front door at the same time. Vaguely, I wondered what irreverence would spout from her this time. The possiblities had me grinning as I threw open the door. Seeing Jeremy instead of Mrs. G. standing before me, however, made my smile morph into a frown.

My feelings at seeing him were mixed, running the full spectrum—everything from pleasure at the sight of his gorgeous face, to anger at both myself and him for that reaction. From relief that he’d returned, to panic that he’d somehow smell the sex on me, despite my having showered. None of which made any sense. Why should I care if he knew I’d gotten laid?

“I come bearing the gift of coffee,” he tried to joke, holding up two cups. The slight tremor in his voice made a lie of his sunny smile, and it was that small show of vulnerability that made me soften and beckon him inside.

Passing me one of the cups, he quietly asked, “Can we talk now? Can I explain?”

With a nod, I indicated the dining table. While I waited for him to begin, I eased the lid from my coffee and took a sip.

“I don’t know really how to explain it, Davie, but I kind of panicked. I was feeling overwhelmed.”

He paused, as if waiting for me to say something, but I remained silent, studying him. He squirmed a little under my gaze, but soldiered on.

“When you stopped writing to me, I’m not ashamed to admit, I balled my eyes out. Several times. I didn’t understand it. One day I got a parcel of four letters and then, nothing. I wrote and I wrote and I heard nothing back—”

“Jere, what can I say? I’m sorry, but at the time my parents split up, my Dad ran off with another woman, my Mum was an emotional, crying wreck, I hadn’t heard from you in nearly a month, and everywhere I turned, I felt hurt and abandoned. I couldn’t take anymore.”

“I’m not blaming you, Davie. All I’m trying to say is; I know what you mean when you say you felt abandoned. I did too. One minute I had a best friend, and the next he disappeared. And I felt so fucking helpless. It wasn’t like I could trot around to your house and confront you. I was stuck in a foreign country, in the wilderness where we didn’t even have electricity, let alone the internet.”

“All I can say is, I’m sorry, Jere. At the time I had to do what I could to keep myself together,” I defended, realizing for the first time the true impact of my actions on Jeremy.

“I understand that now, but back then, I didn’t. I was so hurt, I promised myself I was never going to let anyone, other than my family, get that close to me again. And I haven’t. Tony and Garth are great mates, but I’ve never opened up to them the way I did with you.”

I hung my head, my eyes smarting with unshed tears.

“Don’t, Davie. I’m not saying this to make you feel bad or responsible. I just want you to understand why I freaked out.”

I nodded, unable to utter a word. He reached across the table and squeezed my hand, and I could see the glassy sheen to his eyes that spoke of his barely controlled emotions.

He cleared his throat. “As soon as I saw you, I was just so fucking happy to have my best friend back. It was like the years just fell away. Like we’d never been apart. But a couple of days in, I panicked, realizing I’d let you totally back in, and by doing so, given you the ability to hurt me again.”

It was my turn to reach across the expanse of the table and take his hand in mine. “I’ll never walk away from our friendship again, Jere. I promise.”

“I won’t either.”

We sat there for a moment holding hands, silently regarding each other, and I knew his throat was as clogged with emotion as mine was. Neither of us was comfortable with it, but we were both helpless to fight it.

Clearing his throat again, he gave one last rub of his thumb over my knuckles before releasing my hand. “So will you come camping with me?”

 #

Authors Note

So what do you think?

Should David go camping?

#

Be Sure To Check Out The Other Stories on offer:

Follow all your favorites,

and to read the first 100 words of all  participants,

please visit the Free Fiction Friday’s group website:

Free Fiction Friday

Leave a Reply

