Lily’s 4th July

Hi All,

Firstly, I apologise for the my haphazard posts of late.

I’m afraid with my new responsibilities at Wayward Ink Publishing I put my own needs last on my list of priorities!

Anyways…

It’s the Fourth of July!

4th july 01

I’m not an American, but I too, have something special to celebrate every year on July 4th.

It’s the day my eldest son, L, was born.

He came into the worldย in Katherine, a tiny town situated in the Northern Territory (well, it was tiny back then, LOL).

At the time, there was no nightclubs in the town and so the locals would accept any excuse to host parties and balls.

So, yes, a tiny Australian town decided to celebrate the Fourth of July with a huge formal ball!

Unfortunately, for me, L decided to put in his appearance that day!

L and Me at the pool

L and Me at the pool

His birth is memorable for many reasons but one of the most bizarre was to have his doctor deliver him in full tuxedo with tails! Talk about being welcomed into the world with fanfare!

My best friend was a nurse and heard on the ever so efficient bush telegraph that I’d gone into labour, so she detoured on her way to the ball and did a lovely twirl for me in her beautiful blue evening gown when I’d only popped L out moments before!

L and little brother, J, playing in the dirt!

L and little brother, J, playing in the dirt!

He’ll probably disown me for posting these pics, but I couldn’t resist sharing!

L all grown up!

L all grown up!

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful 4th July!!!

 

10 responses to “Lily’s 4th July

  1. What beautiful photos of all of you. Thank you for sharing them, Lily! Even if L doesn’t appreciate it, we do. ๐Ÿ™‚ What a wonderful story, too. Tux and tails, that’s the first time I’ve heard of that happening. Even if I’m usually saying this for a different reason, being from the USA and all, Happy 4th!

    • I have a few days to wait for mine!

      I remember when I was pregnant with L that someone said to me: “Wait. Have him on your birthday” and I can remember thinking: “I can think of better things to do on my birthday than going through umpteen hours of labour!!!”

      Hugs and thanks, Bev – though I really think I should be calling you, Jetsetter!

  2. Happy birthday L. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Love the piccies Lily.. So cute.. He’s a proper bonny lad, just like his mum! Now he will be mortified!!! Lol. Thanks for sharing. <3.

  3. Well wasn’t that a happy ‘hey everyone I’m back’ post. ๐Ÿ˜€ And if L is a tad miff, so be it, parents get SOME rights and one of em is to show off when they’re proud of their kids – and I know you are so it’s allowed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I was going to be a bit of a wanker and tell everyone your birthday was in #^$(@ days, but it’ll be more fun to just have you wake up on your b-day and find out what I’m going to do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • LOL, Andy, I tell the kids its my duty! And let’s face it its karma for all the embarrassing moments they subject us too as children!!! I think I spent their childhoods with a permanent blush on my cheeks!

      And, um, oh dear! Is this going to be another one of those moments where you scare the crap out of me and I land flat on my arse????

      Lucky I luvs ya!
      Lily

  4. Hope L had a wonderful birthday. I always thought the celebration was for my b-day. Cute picture of you and him at the pool. Grew up to be such a handsome man. That was quite a birth story to share. Everyone should enter the world with such a one!

    • LOL, Skylar, I’m sure America would love to celebrate with you!

      I’ve never been described as cute before, but L sure was. He’s always had such personality!

      And he’s the whole package if I do say so myself – smart, funny, and handsome!

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Lily

Leave a Reply

