Guest Author: M.A. Church and her new release: Wrapped in Leather

 

WrappedinLeather_headerbanner

Hi All!

I’m happy to welcome M.A. Church to my blog!

Poor soul didn’t know I’d grill her….

LV:  Okay, first cab off the rank… and lulling M.A. into a false send of security…. Favorite color?

M.A.:  That would be red. Love the color! My car is red, lol. I bought a laptop that was red. There are shades of red all through my house. *snicker* My favorite drink comes in a red can. (Coke)

LV:  Okay, I have M.A. fooled (I think!) Weather: Hot or cold?

M.A.:  God, I hate the cold. I hate snow. I’d rather deal with the horrible heat here than cold any day! Guess it’s a good thing I live in the South, lol.

LV:  Okay now for some serious shit… (I might actually learn something!) Could you ever co-author a book with someone? If so, who would you choose, and what would you write?

M.A.: I have actually co-authored something, lol. Dreamspinner released Be My Alien, a novella, May 2013. Julie Lynn Hayes and I started this roughly a year ago. We have two more books planned and we’re close to being done with the next in the series. Oh, we named the series Moonlit Skies. The next book is titled Be My Human, and it’s novel length. Yup, it’s scifi, lol.

I will say that I’ve good things and bad things about doing the co-author thing, but Julie and I work well together. I’ve found it’s a give and take relationship. We talk about plot points and other things, and we listen to what the other has to say.

LV:  What comes first, the plot or characters?

M.A.:  For me, the plot comes first. I have to have some working idea of what I’m writing, lol. Before I ever put pen to paper, so to speak, I have a beginning, middle, and end. *laugh* I guess it’s the teacher in me. I can’t help it, lol. Now, that’s not to say there isn’t room for change. Hell, there’s even been a time or two I threw the plot out the window and started completely over. Talk about stressing me out, though, so that doesn’t happen often.

LV:  How do you come up with the titles to your books? (LOL, I’m hoping for some help here!)

M.A.:  Lord, they just come to me, lol. Seriously, I’ll be sitting on the couch watching TV and a title will pop up in my head. Then I’m grabbing something to write on. I’ve started keeping the grocery list because I’ve had titles written on the back. The bad thing (or good, depending on how you look at it) is I come up with titles for books I’ve not written. That drives me crazy, lol.

LV:  Are you a plotter or a pantser?

M.A.:  Oh, I’m a plotter. Like I said, I have to have something to go on. I’ve tried the ‘write by the seat of my pants’ approach and it isn’t pretty. I end up with a mess that makes no sense and plot holes you could drive a truck through.

LV:  What advice would you give a new writer just starting out?

M.A.: The first thing would be to research the publisher you’re looking at. Google them. Go look at their website. What kind of covers do they have? Do you like them? Go on places like ARe and check out the bestseller list. What publishers are there? Ask around. Talk to others. Listen to what’s being talked about on social media and blogs. I hate to say it, but if there’s smoke, there’s usually fire.

The other thing I’d say is don’t give up, and please, don’t take rejection to heart. This is a business. Publishers want to make money. If they don’t think something will work for them, they’ll give it a pass. That doesn’t mean they think the story sucks. So, okay then, it’s been rejected. Send that story off to another publisher.

LV:  Do you ever suffer from writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

M.A.:  Hmm, not really sure. *laugh* Now that makes sense, right? I don’t think I’ve actually been blocked, but I do get… bored. I need to take a break from whatever I’m writing and work on something else. I might step away from a WIP for up to a month, then suddenly, it gets hot and I can’t leave it alone, lol. And yes, that often shoots my schedule, but that’s how I am. Some people can’t work on several stories at a time. I’m one of those that can’t stick with just one.

about_the_author

Hey everyone! I’m M.A. Church and I’m here to talk about my latest release, Wrapped in Leather. It’s the first in the Wrapped Up series. It’ll be released by Dreamspinner January 3rd.

WrappedinLeather 200x300

Blurb:

To celebrate his decision to take the next step with his boyfriend Ian, Toshi Baylor plans a romantic evening at their favorite steak house. Toshi starts the special weekend with a bang by surprising Ian at home with lunch. There’s a bang all right, but it’s between Ian and another guy.
Jase Taylor’s auto repair shop and the BDSM club, Wrapped Up, keep him busy while he waits for Mr. Right, instead of Mr. Right Now. He’s a Dom, but playing with the club’s submissives isn’t providing the usual stress release. After a day from hell, he deserves a good meal at his favorite steak house.
Toshi and Jase find a mix-up with their reservations: a table for Baylor, not Taylor. When Toshi invites Jase to dine with him, they discover a mutual affection for leather and a shared belief that trust must be earned.

Before they can explore their common interests, Toshi suffers a series of attacks by vandals. Jase’s protective instincts kick in, but both wonder if it can lead to anything permanent.

 

WrappedinLeather_headerbanner

Buy link: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4567

Paperback: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=4568

Release date: January 3rd

Cover Artist: Paul Richmond

Excerpt:

Toshi watched as the guy parked and swung a leg off the bike, jeans tightening across what looked like a fine ass. Toshi gulped. Now that was some fantasy material. The guy stood next to the bike—oooh, he was tall too. The helmet, along with the leather jacket, gloves, and boots gave him a mysterious, dangerous look, with a strong side of kinky thrown into the mix.

“Damn,” Toshi muttered, his dick twitching with interest.

The stranger removed his helmet and leather gloves. Nice, short dark-brown hair and a sexy goatee—Toshi swallowed hard. His dick was doing more than twitching. Gods, everything about this guy screamed smoking hot, kinky sex. The leather alone was enough to rev his imagination. Which was unfortunate, since the man he was drooling over was probably straight. But hey, he could dream.

He entered the restaurant before his interest was noticed, just to be safe. Wow, the biker guy really flipped his switches. He was more than a little surprised at how he’d responded—no one had stirred his interest like that since he’d started dating again. Not even Ian had gotten him this hot. Toshi sidelined his thoughts when he was greeted by the hostess.

“Good evening, sir. One for dinner tonight?” Angie, the hostess, flipped her long hair over her shoulder, a smile on her face.

“Yeah, I had a reservation under the name Baylor for eight.” A breeze swirled around Toshi as the biker guy walked inside the restaurant.

“Great! We’re really slammed tonight. Dan will be here in a moment to show you to your table.”

Toshi heard the hostess Angie start her spiel again. She didn’t get far.

“Oh no, oh sir, I’m so sorry! We don’t have a Mr. Taylor listed.”

“Look, I spoke to you, remember? I called and made a reservation at eight tonight for one. It was a little loud in here when I called.”

Toshi shivered and slowed at the deep voice behind him. That sound reached right down to his balls.

“I-I… I’m so sorry, sir. There seems to be a mix-up with the last names of you and the customer who was just here. But we should have a table coming up in about an hour.”

“An hour? You’re kidding, right? You made a mistake, not me, but I have to wait? Jesus, can this day get any worse? Look, I’ll just sit at the bar until something comes available.”

“I’m sorry, sir, but the bar is full. I’m so sorry for the mix-up, but there simply isn’t a table open. And there isn’t any room at the bar right now.”

WrappedinLeather_headerbanner

Author bio:

M.A. Church lives in the southern United States and spent many years in the elementary education sector. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have two children. Her hobbies are gardening, walking, attending flea markets, watching professional football, racing, and spending time with her family on the lake.

 

But her most beloved hobby is reading. From an early age, she can remember hunting for books at the library. Later nonhuman and science fiction genres captured her attention and drew her into the worlds the authors had created. But always at the back of her mind was the thought that one day, when the kids were older and she had more time, she would write a book.

 

By sheer chance she stumbled across a gay male romance story on the web and was hooked. A new world opened up and she fell in love. Thus the journey started. When not writing or researching, she enjoys reading the latest erotic and mainstream romance novels.

 

 

My links:

Blog http://machurch00.blogspot.com

Twitter @nomoretears00

Facebook: M.A. Church http://www.facebook.com/pages/MA-Chur…

The Harvest FB fan page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/theharvest00

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5141393.M_A_Church

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Guest Author: M.A. Church and her new release: Wrapped in Leather

  1. Great, informative and interesting interview and a very delectable teaser… Thanks Lily & MA. Sexy biker guy in leather? Sign me up. Lol. I really need to know what happens now! 😀

Leave a Reply

