Some wise words from actor, Paul Newman

A quote by Paul Newman came through on my tumblr account. It was about his thoughts on homosexuality. It got me thinking about him and his extraordinary life. He is one of my all time favourite actors and people.

For me, his integrity always shone through. He was talented, hardworking, but also knew how to have fun. He was loyal, had one of the longest running marriages in Hollywood (no mean feat!), and had a heart. On top of that he was an incredibly generous man.

On a side note, one of the proudest moments I had as a daughter was when my father borrowed one of his lines to put an overly flirtatious young waitress in her place when she passed him her phone number while my mother was sitting right beside him! I just about burst with love and respect when he loudly told her, “Why fool around with hamburger when I have steak at home?”

Paul Newman’s wife, Joanne Woodward said of him, “Paul likes to test himself. That’s what makes Paul run. He’s got a lot of courage, a highly underrated element in people’s lives these days.”

Those words are so very true.

I think all creative people are brave and courageous. It takes a lot of courage to put your creative efforts out into the public forum, where, yes, it may find an appreciative audience, but it will also likely find its share of detractors.

But that’s an article for another day. Today is for Paul!

Here are some of my favourites among the many wise and wonderful things he said over the years.

Paul Newman 05

Paul Newman 01(I think the same could be said of songwriting, artmaking and writing!)

Paul Newman 03

Paul Newman 04(I’d have gone with the red wine analogy, but hey…. goes to show what a great sense of humour he had!)

Paul Newman 02

And here is the quote that got me thinking in the first place!

And doesn’t it make the best of sense?

Our sexual orientation is such a small thing in the scheme of things.

Much more important are things like integrity, honesty, and generosity.

I’ll leave you with one last quote, this one from Horace Greeley, but I think Mr. Newman would agree with its sentiments.

inspiration 53

4 responses to “Some wise words from actor, Paul Newman

  1. Awesome man. I always loved that he and Joanne ad such a strong marriage in a world where relationships are so fickle, and that he speaks out against homophobia just lifts him even higher in my eyes.. And he was so hot in his younger days ( not that he ddnt age very nicely too ). Thanks for sharing lily. Love this post. 🙂

    • He certainly was one in a million. He always came across as so down to earth. He and Joanne Woodward seemed to have such a deep and abiding respect and acceptance of each other.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment on something that wasn’t particularly ‘authorly’!!!! Your continued support is very much appreciated!

  2. Lily, I’ve neve seen those quotes from Paul Newman before but if I didn’t already love the man for who he was and what he did while here, well this would have just made my cup runneth over. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Hey Skylar! I once read an interview with him and my heart just about broke for him. He was so honest – he spoke of never getting over the guilt of not being able to save his son, Scott, who died from a drug overdose.

      I think he spent the rest of his life trying to “save” others.

      He certainly made his mark on this world, and continues to do so from the grave with the monies his food line raises. Now that’s what I call a lasting legacy.

      Hugs

      Lily

Leave a Reply

