GUEST INTERVIEW and CONTEST closing soon!!!: Andrew Q. Gordon talking about his upcoming release on 21st June, PURPOSE

Check out the great Video Trailer for:

PURPOSE

published by Dreamspinner Press

Release Date: 21 June, 2013

Firstly, welcome, Andy! I’m one of your biggest fans, and so it’s a great pleasure to have you visit. I’m feeling a little fangirly – I’ve read both (Un)Masked and The Last Grand Master and loved them!

 Andy Q previous publications

Now that I’ve lulled you into a false sense of security, you’d best take a seat, because I want to learn a little more about Andrew Q Gordon, the man, before I pick your brains about your upcoming release on June 21st : Purpose.

Lily: What’s your favorite quote? Why?

Andy: “There can be only one.” It was the line from Highlander [which is/was my favorite movie], but it is applicable to so many other things.  Christopher Lambert was the original ‘Highlander’ and I totally ‘see’ him when I see Gar/Will so it’s appropriate.

Lily: Describe your dream holiday, Andy.

Andy: Hmm, this is a trick question of sorts because my dream holiday and the family dream holiday would not be the same.  My ideal vacation would be to go some quiet. I’d want nothing to do, no sights to see, no people to visit. I’d want to relax and decompress. But that only works if you live alone. Hubby and ‘lil q are not going to want to sit and relax with me. They’re more into doing stuff.  That always leaves me needing a vacation from my vacation.

Lily: Hmm, I guess this means you haven’t booked your flights to come visit me in Australia. Bummer, I bought a mile of chicken…

Lily: At dinner parties and barbeques do you laugh at your own jokes? Be honest, I will ask Mike to verify!

Andy: I never tell jokes. I have no sense of humor.

Lily: I find that hard to believe!

Andy: Ask away, it’ll be verified.  But no, I smile and grin, but I never laugh at my own jokes, not even when they are about me.  I have an excellent poker face.

Lily: Mental note to self: never play strip poker with Andy.

Lily: When you were a child did you prefer swings or slides? Please tell us why.

Andy: Neither?  I used to like the stuff you climbed.  Monkey Bars we called them when I was a kid back in the stone ages.  Swings are boring – I mean, you do the same thing over and over. Slides, over too fast. I used to need more than either of them to keep my attention.  Yes, I was one of those kids who made their mum gray prematurely.

Lily: What’s your mum’s address, Andy. I want to send her a card – she obviously needs congratulating on having survived raising you! Seriously though, you remind me of my sons – they needed lots of activity!

Lily: Andrew, are you a savory or sweet guy?

Andy:  I’d go with savory. Take that as you like, but I don’t think of myself as a very sweet or sweet(s) person. Curmudgeon comes to mind more when talking about me than sweet.

Lily: LOL, Andy! So does curmudgeon (great word, by the way!) come as a cheese?

Okay, now on to some serious stuff!

Purpose_headerbanner

Lily: Do you sketch out an outline or do you just write?

Andy: Some of both.  Usually I get the first few chapters done, and then I talk it out with someone.  I write down my ‘vision and then talk it out some more. With Champions, I’ve just written it. I know how it ends, but it’s not written down anywhere.

Lily: Do your stories ever deviate from the original path you had set for them when you first came up with the plot?

Andy: No story has ever made it without some change along the way, mostly tweaks to make things consistent and coherent. But for the most part, my stories don’t really go off on crazy tangents such that you wouldn’t recognize the end product from what I set out to write.

Lily: Are the names of the characters in your novels important? How do you come up with them?

Andy: Not at all.  Some, I pull out of a random book.   Meaning, I’ll open a book to a page and use the first name I like.  Other times, I just think of different names and use one. When I was writing the Last Grand Master and the books to follow, I needed a LOT of names for minor characters. I used to keep a list of odd, or different names, I could draw on when I didn’t feel like being creative.

 

Lily: How did you come up with the title?

Andy: It fits into the plot.  The spirit of vengeance is power with a purpose.  That is how I described to my friend, John, when I bounced the idea off of him.  Will – the MC calls it the Purpose – hence the title. 

 

Lily: How long did it take you to write Purpose?

Andy: About a year. I took a bit of a break when ‘lil q was born.  I was also writing parts of three other stories at the time, so I didn’t devote full time to it.

Lily: YAY! Thank you, Andy. That makes me feel so much better about my own writing – I often have the characters from more than one story competing for attention inside my head!

 

Lily: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Andy: Honestly, no, but I know I raised a few ideas that will be controversial.  I wrote this as just a story. There are no hidden meanings, no moral questions to ponder.  But again, I suspect people will accuse me of working some into the book.

Lily: Ooh, now you have me intrigued even more!

Lily: If you could leave your readers with one legacy, what would it be?

Andy: I think I’d need a cadre of readers first to ponder that question.  There is a bit of hubris in talking about people who read my books as ‘my readers’ or ‘my fans.’  I’d be happy if people liked Purpose enough to recommend it.  Beyond that, I don’t see me as attracting groupies who think I have a legacy.  Cop out, eh? 

Lily: YES! We want to know more!

Andy: Okay then, let me try that again. Hmm, legacy. If I could get Purpose made into a movie, I’d want it to be a cult classic that people line up to see on Friday nights and come dressed in character – oops, that was Rocky Horror. I would like to have one of my books made into a movie some day.  That’d be a cool legacy. 🙂

Lily: It certainly would, Andy. Here’s hoping the powers that be in Hollywood come a knockin’! Okay, I’ll shut up now and let PURPOSE speak for itself! Thanks so much for providing my followers an excerpt!

Purpose Cover

Blurb:

Forty years ago the Spirit of Vengeance—a Purpose—took William Morgan as its host, demanding he avenge the innocent by killing the guilty. Since then, Will has retreated behind Gar, a façade he uses to avoid dealing with what he’s become. Cold, impassive, and devoid of emotion, Gar goes about his life alone—until his tidy, orderly world is upended when he meets Ryan, a broken young man cast out by his family. Spurred to action for reasons he can’t understand, Gar saves Ryan from death and finds himself confronted by his humanity.

Spending time with Ryan helps Will claw out from under Gar’s shadow. He recognizes Ryan is the key to his reclaiming his humanity and facing his past. As Will struggles to control the Purpose, Ryan challenges him to rethink everything he knew about himself and the spirit that possesses him. In the process, he pushes Will to do something he hasn’t done in decades: care.

Pre-order link: Purpose from Dreamspinner Press

Excerpt:

Gar walked toward the window in his bedroom, wrapping the towel around his waist as he moved. Pulling steadily, he opened the blinds to the city below. The kid woke something Gar kept dormant for a reason. People couldn’t understand what he’d become. Worse, caring for someone only put them at risk. The Purpose didn’t care about the position held by the guilty. If vengeance was required, Gar needed to exact punishment. He’d killed stupid kids, drug lords, government agents, and powerful politicians. Survival required he move around, hide his identity, and not leave witnesses.

Having someone around made it harder, and while he was fairly invulnerable, Ryan was most definitely not. Gar knew he should send the kid away, but he was also aware of the pain it would cause. Not just to Ryan, but to him.

If he wasn’t going to reject Ryan, Gar owed him a full explanation. Without any proof to support it, Gar was certain Ryan wouldn’t leave once he found out. Even with the risks being around Gar posed, Ryan would stay. For the same reasons Gar couldn’t turn him out, Ryan couldn’t leave.

Footsteps and the movement of the air alerted him before Ryan’s image appeared in the glass. He had a towel around his waist and had managed to tame his still-damp hair.

“Gar?”

“Yes?”

“Please don’t sleep on the couch.” Although a hint of desire caught in Ryan’s voice, the need to be accepted was louder.

Keeping his gaze fixed on the city lights, Gar steeled himself to decline the request. “Ryan….”

“Please?” The need in his voice forced Gar to turn.

Skinny, pale, and mostly smooth, with a patch of hair just above the waist, Ryan looked vulnerable in just his towel. It occurred to him that Ryan was worried that the moment had passed and Gar wouldn’t want someone who looked like him. If only he knew.

“Ryan, let me finish, please.” Gar waited until he received a tentative, sad nod. “Before we do anything, you need to know who and, more importantly, what I am. I can’t do that tonight. This isn’t a rejection. My reaction in the shower was genuine. I do want to be with you, and I do find you attractive. But we can’t be intimate tonight. Please accept that.”

Tears forming in his eyes, Ryan searched Gar’s face for something. When he looked away, Gar knew he had failed. For too long, he had renounced his feelings and expressing them to others. Tonight, when he needed to reassure, he failed.

No, he hadn’t failed, not yet. “Ryan….” Moving quickly, Gar took Ryan’s hand in his. “Don’t look away, please. If you give me a day, you have my word, if you still feel this way tomorrow, I won’t say no.”

“A day?”

Gar nodded, keeping his gaze locked on Ryan’s. “Tomorrow I’ll explain everything. After that… well, after that, you’ll have to let me know if the offer is still good.”

“Tomorrow,” Ryan repeated softly. “Okay, but will you at least hold me tonight? I’ll be good, but it’s been so long….”

He wanted to say no because that wasn’t much better. Sex wasn’t the problem; it was the emotional attachment. Attachment. That was the rub. Part of him was already attached. He just didn’t know when, how, or why.

“Okay,” he said.

A small smile appeared and continued to grow until Ryan looked about to burst.

But for his emotional detachment, something he practiced for more than three decades, Gar might be reaction the same way as Ryan. He didn’t understand what connected them, but whatever it was, he had a day to figure it out.

Ryan practically ran to the bathroom and tossed his towel over a hook. He pulled the sheet and blanket back, and rolled naked into the center. Gar stared. Maybe he should change his mind.

“I said I’d be good and I meant it, but this is how I sleep.”

Hanging his towel next to Ryan’s, Gar glanced at the cotton pants he’d set out. Leaving them untouched, he shut the lights off and walked around the bed. Ryan snuggled over almost as soon as Gar pulled the covers up. Wrapping his arm around Ryan, he felt himself stir again.

“William Morgan,” he whispered.

Ryan rolled around until they were face to face. “What?”

“Will—William Morgan, that’s my real name.”

Gar could feel the smile etched onto Ryan’s face as he burrowed in closer. Tomorrow better be one hell of a productive day.

contest

 For a chance to win a $10.00 Dreamspinner Press credit, just leave a comment.

Please include your email address so we can notify you if you win.

A winner will be chosen using Randomizer.org on June 21, 2013, from the valid entries left by 8:00 p.m on June 20, 2103.[1]

(This contest is not part of the pre-release $15.00 DsP credit. Only people who comment on Lily’s blog are eligible for the giveaway.)

 about_the_author

Andy Q zoo-2

Andrew Q. Gordon wrote his first story back when yellow legal pads, ball point pens were common and a Smith Corona correctable typewriter was considered high tech. Adapting with technology, he now takes his MacBook somewhere quiet when he wants to write.

He currently lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his partner of eighteen years, their young daughter and dog.  In addition to dodging some very self-important D.C. ‘insiders’, Andrew uses his commute to catch up on his reading. When not working or writing, he enjoys soccer, high fantasy, baseball and seeing how much coffee he can drink in a day and not get the shakes.

Follow Andrew on his website: www.andrewqgordon.com,

On Facebook:  www.facebook.com/andrewqugordon,

On Twitter:  @andrewqgordon,

Or just email him: andrewqgordon@gmail.com

 


[1] All dates and times are East Coast, U.S.A. (EST).

10 responses to “GUEST INTERVIEW and CONTEST closing soon!!!: Andrew Q. Gordon talking about his upcoming release on 21st June, PURPOSE

  1. Thank you Lily and Andrew for the interview and excerpt. I had read the blurb about Purpose recently and meant to add it to my wishlist but got side-tracked. Thank you for the reminder because I am very interested in reading this book! I laughed at Andrew’s comment about needing a vacation from a vacation. I totally feel like that too after some family vacations!

    • Thanks Meg,

      I’m glad someone else feels the same. I never get why people look forward to vacations – and in the US 2 weeks is considered VERY long – btw getting work squared away and then packing and traveling, esp with kids, ugh, I almost dread taking off anymore unless it’s to just stay home. 🙂

      Thanks of commenting. -AQG

Leave a Reply

