ANNE RICE on WRITING

ANNE RICE

” First off, I know nothing about publishing today and have precious little that I can say on that subject…

On writing, my advice is the same to all. If you want to be a writer, write. Write and write and write. If you stop, start again. Save everything you write. If you feel blocked, write through it until you feel your creative juices flowing again. Write. Writing is what makes you a writer, nothing more and nothing less.

Ignore critics. Critics are a dime a dozen. Anybody can be a critic, writers are precious…

Go where the pleasure is in your writing. Go where the pain is. Write the book you would like to read. Write the book you have been trying to find, but have not found. But write. And remember there are no rules for our profession. Ignore rules. Ignore what I say here if it doesn’t help you. Do it your own way.

Every writer knows fear and discouragement. Just write…

The world is crying for new writing. It is crying for fresh and original voices and new characters and new stories. If you won’t write the classics of tomorrow, well, we will not have any.

Good luck.”

THESE ARE WORDS I LISTEN TO.

EVERY TIME I DOUBT MYSELF, OR I’M STRUGGLING TO PAINT WITH WORDS THE PICTURE THAT IS SO CLEAR IN MY HEAD, I KEEP WRITING.

EVERY TIME I FEEL INADEQUATE TO CONVEY WHAT THE CHARACTERS POPULATING MY HEAD ARE SHOWING AND TELLING ME, I WRITE.

AM I ADEQUATE TO THE TASK YET? NO, PROBABLY NOT.

BUT AM I LEARNING? YES.

LIFE IS LEARNING.

PRACTICE IS LEARNING.

EVERY DAY IS AN EDUCATION.

AND SO I KEEP WRITING, WITH THE AIM THAT WITH EVERY SENTENCE, EVERY PARAGRAPH, EVERY STORY, I’M HONING MY CRAFT, TO THE POINT THAT ONE DAY, I WILL GENUINELY BE ABLE TO CALL MYSELF A WRITER.

One response to “ANNE RICE on WRITING

  1. I think Anne’s advice is the best advice I have ever read on any topic. It’s encouraging and she’s right. Write the book you would like to read. Ignore the critics. Write, write and write some more. It’s inspiring in its simplicity. Great choice.

Leave a Reply

